Domestic Quest – BLW Chickpea Patties

So as mentioned a few posts ago, I am on a quest to become more domesticated and part of that is cooking at least two new meals a week to try as a family, Hubs is working late this week, so that gives me the perfect opportunity to try out some of the recipes I have pinned.

We are also battling a potential egg intolerance, Little Man had some omelette a few weeks ago, he’d had egg many times before and been fine, but this time after about 3 hours he was very sick for an hour and then a little groggy but fine, this has made us think it was potentially the egg, so we are steering clear for now, but most of the recipes I have pinned contain egg, we’ve tried flax seed as a replacement but not had great success. However this recipe for Chickpea Patties had no egg, minimal ingredients and seemed pretty straightforward, which is my kind of cooking!

I found the recipe over at Simple Bites and it was originally adapted from the BLW Cookbook, I didn’t include the garlic or the parsley as I didn’t have any.

2014-04-03 20.11.12 2014-04-03 20.13.212014-04-03 20.12.28

They turned out great, I served them with Avocado (which went great with the lemon in the patties), Carrot and Cucumber, but Little Man wasn’t a big fan.

 

2014-04-03 20.12.45I think the onion, lemon and cumin were all new flavours and maybe a little overwhelming for him, but I will try again, maybe with slightly less lemon, as I really enjoyed them and they will make a great, low budget mid week meal with some cous cous and salad.

 

We finished the meal with Pear & Prune Fruit Preserve and Natural Yoghurt, he enjoyed that much more!2014-04-03 20.13.11

 

Leave a Reply

